Skip Links

Councillors and wards

Mount Alexander Shire Council is made up of seven Councillors, elected by voters who are registered on the electoral role in five wards. The role of Councillors is one of advocacy and leadership rather than management and administration.

New Council sworn in

Councillors elected at 2016 election

Councillors elected at the 22 October 2016 election were sworn in at the Special Meeting of Council held on 8 November 2016. Councillors took the oath of office and made a declaration before the CEO to abide by the Councillors Code of Conduct at the Special Meeting.
Councillor Sharon Telford was elected as Mayor for a period of one year.

Calder Ward

Councillor Cordy

Councillor Tony Cordy

Mobile: 0466 004 629

Buda Historic Home and Garden
Sutton Grange Hall

Castlemaine Ward

Councillor Machin

Councillor Bronwen Machin

Mobile: 0407 345 744

Campbells Creek Community Centre
Friends of Lolotoe Friendship Group
Goldfields Regional Library Corporation
Loddon Mallee Regional Waste Management Forum
Victorian Local Governance Association

Councillor Taylor

Councillor Robin Taylor

Mobile: 0437 089 841

Camp Reserve
Mount Alexander Shire Audit & Risk Advisory Committee
Workspace Australia

Councillor Bell

Councillor Tony Bell

Mobile: 0408 017 655

Calder Highway Improvement Committee
Campbells Creek Recreation Reserve
Castlemaine War Memorial Stadium
Wattle Flat Reserve
Wesley Hill Facility

Coliban Ward

Councillor Henderson

Councillor Christine Henderson

Mobile: 0466 004 628

Barfold Hall
Elphinstone Community Facilities
Metcalfe Hall
Municipal Association of Victoria
Municipal Fire Management Planning Committee
Taradale Hall
Taradale Recreation Reserve

Loddon River Ward

Councillor Nieman

Councillor John Nieman

Mobile: 0437 108 458

Goulburn Murray Water - Cairn Curran Land & On Water Management Plan Implementation Group
Guildford Hall
Guildford Recreation Reserve
John Powell Reserve
Muckleford Community Centre
Municipal Emergency Management Planning Committee
Newstead Community Centre
Northern Victorian Cluster Municipal Emergency Management Plan Committee

Tarrengower Ward

Councillor Telford

Councillor Sharon Telford, Mayor

Mobile: 0407 991 403

Baringhup Community Association
Bill Woodfull Recreation Reserve
Indigenous Roundtable
Maldon Community Centre
Mount Alexander Shire Audit & Risk Advisory Committee
Mount Alexander: A Healthy Shire: Community Advisory Committee

Councillor Code of Conduct

The Councillor Code of Conduct provides guidance on Councillor conduct including: principles for good governance, behaviours, Council decision-making, confidential information, access to and use of information, use of Council resources, relationships with staff, gifts, communication, conflict of interests and dispute resolution. It was adopted by Council on 21 February 2017. Read the Councillor Code of Conduct.

Powered by