Skip Links

Councillors and wards

Councillors elected in 2020

Mount Alexander Shire Council is made up of seven Councillors, elected by voters who are registered on the electoral role in five wards.

The role of Councillors is one of advocacy and leadership rather than management and administration.


The Victorian Electoral Commission has formally announced the results of the 2020 Mount Alexander Shire Council election with three councillors returned and four new councillors.

Councillors elected were sworn in on 10 November 2020 where they took the oath of office and made a declaration before the CEO to abide by the Councillors Code of Conduct.

Calder Ward

Councillor Tony Cordy

Councillor Tony Cordy
Mobile: 0466 004 629

Buda Historic Home and Garden
Calder Highway Improvement Committee
Health Hub Alliance
La Larr Ba Gauwa Mountain Bike Park (substitute)
Municipal Association of Victoria
Indigenous Roundtable

Castlemaine Ward

Councillor Bill Maltby

Councillor Bill Maltby
Deputy Mayor
Mobile: 0437 089 841

Northern Victorian Integrated Municipal Emergency Management Plan Committee
Municipal Fire Management Planning Committee,
LGBTIQ+ Steering Group

Castlemaine Ward

Councillor Rosie Annear

Councillor Rosie Annear

Mobile: 0407 345 744

Goldfields Regional Library Corporation
La Larr Ba Gauwa Mountain Bike Park
Municipal Association of Victoria (substitute)
Early Years Steering Group
Bulortj Children and Youth Network

Castlemaine Ward

Councillor Gary McClure

Councillor Gary William McClure

Mobile: 0408 017 655

Loddon Mallee Regional Waste Management Forum,
Victorian Local Governance Association,
A House of my own Committee,
Community Transition Plan Steering Committee

Coliban Ward

Councillor Christine Henderson

Councillor Christine Henderson

Mobile: 0466 004 628

Friends of Lolotoe Friendship Group

Loddon River Ward

Councillor Matthew Driscoll

Councillor Matthew Driscoll

Mobile: 0437108 458

Mount Alexander Shire Audit and Risk Advisory Committee

Tarrengower Ward

Councillor Stephen Gardner

Councillor Stephen Gardner

Mobile: 0407 991 403

Goulburn Murray Water - Cairn Curran Land & On Water

Councillor Code of Conduct

The Councillor Code of Conduct provides guidance on Councillor conduct including: principles for good governance, behaviours, Council decision-making, confidential information, access to and use of information, use of Council resources, relationships with staff, gifts, communication, conflict of interests and dispute resolution. It was adopted by Council on 21 February 2017. Read the Councillor Code of Conduct.

Powered by